About the PhD course From research to business

Meet the 2009/2010 participants

The PhD students participating 2009/2010 have already devoted time and energy to an intensive and challenging course. From 27 applicants 20 were selected by a selection committé. Meet some of the 2009/2010 participants below:
Yury Loayza

Name: Yury Loayza

Background: I come from Peru. At 22 moved to Germany where studied aerospace engineering during 2 years at Stuttgart Univeristy and was working as a student researcher at the department of visualization. Later when my son was born I moved here to Sweden. I studied the MSc in Mechanical Engineering at Lund University. I did my master thesis in Colorado USA. Since 2006 I am a PhD student on electrical hybrid vehicles at Lund University.

Why did you apply for this course?
To be entrepreneurial seems to be a way of life, an attitude towards life that feels very challenging and seems to be able to give me the satisfaction of being in the game and not just a spectator.

What have you learned so far that surprised you?
Sometimes I have been is situations where a plan or idea seemed to be just crazy, too complicated or not realizable. But just by not giving up and with some help from friends and colleges, they became reality.

How do you think this course will help you develop your idea?
First it will help me to create my idea, maybe an idea that I have not yet considered.

Would you recommend other to take this course, in that case why?
I would tell other PhD students and persons about it. I think it is a good option, a good experience; it will give me a lot and is worth the effort it requires. But they should decide for themselves if they want to go entrepreneurial lines.

Fadi Abdallah Fadi Abdallah
Yasar Amin Yasar Amin
Ola Dagbro Ola Dagbro
Carl Junesand Carl Junesand
Antonina Khairova Antonina Khairova
Sandra Kliknaite Sandra Kliknaite
Chaitanya Koppisetty Chaitanya Koppisetty
Yury Loayza Yury Loayza
Johan Lundberg Johan Lundberg
Mats Niklasson Mats Niklasson
Helgi Nolsøe Helgi Nolsøe
Zhibo Pang Zhibo Pang
Johan Persson Johan Persson
Nima Sanandaji Nima Sanandaji
Anita Sant Anita Sant'Anna
Francesco Strino Francesco Strino
Axel Wolf Axel Wolf
Zhi Zhang Zhi Zhang
Jonas Åberg Jonas Åberg