About the PhD course From research to business

Meet the 2009/2010 participants

The PhD students participating 2009/2010 have already devoted time and energy to an intensive and challenging course. From 27 applicants 20 were selected by a selection committé. Meet some of the 2009/2010 participants below:
Johan Lundberg

Name: Johan Lundberg

Background: I studied for my MD at Karolinska Institutet and currently I am pursuing a PhD. Since 2006 I have been working at Karolinska Institutet with endovascular intervention research and before that I worked with experimental brain surgery at the Neurosurgical Clinics Laboratory at Karolinska. One of our fields of interests is a transvascular method of creating organ access through endovascular means. Instead of drilling holes in the cranium we can use the internal routes that arteries and veins compromise from an access point somewhere on the body to the brain or other hard-to-reach organs. This in order to minimize patient trauma and improve efficacy of e.g. stem cell transplantations or local administration of cytostatics.

Why did you apply for this course?
It was recommended from our collaborators at Karolinska Innovations AB to further my, and subsequently my fellow inventors’ in our groups understanding, of businesses. We are currently really moving forward with our project and need to boldly go into a world completely different from the one we are used to if we want to commercialize our project.

What have you learned so far that surprised you?

How do you think this course will help you develop your idea?
Hopefully I will understand more about the process when and how to turn scientific data into a business venture, and how to present scientific work in a more accessible manner.

Would you recommend other to take this course, in that case why?

Fadi Abdallah Fadi Abdallah
Yasar Amin Yasar Amin
Ola Dagbro Ola Dagbro
Carl Junesand Carl Junesand
Antonina Khairova Antonina Khairova
Sandra Kliknaite Sandra Kliknaite
Chaitanya Koppisetty Chaitanya Koppisetty
Yury Loayza Yury Loayza
Johan Lundberg Johan Lundberg
Mats Niklasson Mats Niklasson
Helgi Nolsøe Helgi Nolsøe
Zhibo Pang Zhibo Pang
Johan Persson Johan Persson
Nima Sanandaji Nima Sanandaji
Anita Sant Anita Sant'Anna
Francesco Strino Francesco Strino
Axel Wolf Axel Wolf
Zhi Zhang Zhi Zhang
Jonas Åberg Jonas Åberg