About the PhD course From research to business

Meet the 2009/2010 participants

The PhD students participating 2009/2010 have already devoted time and energy to an intensive and challenging course. From 27 applicants 20 were selected by a selection committé. Meet some of the 2009/2010 participants below:
Jonas Åberg

Name: Jonas Åberg

Background: I come from a small village just outside Östersund in the northern part of Sweden. Now I live in Uppsala with my wife and daughter. I have a masters of science in materials science from Uppsala University, were I’m now doing my PhD on injectable ceramics. The aim of my current project is to develop a new material for the treatment of vertebral fractures.

Why did you apply for this course?
Since we got the idea for our new bone cement we have had the ambition to commercialize it. I applied for this course to increase the chances for success of our venture.

What have you learned so far that surprised you?
I was surprised to learn that Lena Ramfelt (responsible for the course) promised to be available 24/7 along the whole duration of the course.

How do you think this course will help you develop your idea?
I believe this course will give me a better understanding of all components important for the transfer of an idea from research to business. I am also convinced that I will meet many inspiring persons who will motivate me, and also help me if I ask them for advice.

Would you recommend other to take this course, in that case why?
Yes. Everything I have seen so far has been good so I think it is a good course for someone with entrepreneurial aspirations.

Fadi Abdallah Fadi Abdallah
Yasar Amin Yasar Amin
Ola Dagbro Ola Dagbro
Carl Junesand Carl Junesand
Antonina Khairova Antonina Khairova
Sandra Kliknaite Sandra Kliknaite
Chaitanya Koppisetty Chaitanya Koppisetty
Yury Loayza Yury Loayza
Johan Lundberg Johan Lundberg
Mats Niklasson Mats Niklasson
Helgi Nolsøe Helgi Nolsøe
Zhibo Pang Zhibo Pang
Johan Persson Johan Persson
Nima Sanandaji Nima Sanandaji
Anita Sant Anita Sant'Anna
Francesco Strino Francesco Strino
Axel Wolf Axel Wolf
Zhi Zhang Zhi Zhang
Jonas Åberg Jonas Åberg